Friday, February 18, 2005

Day 2 of 5

We just finished the second of five days off of school for the boys. I have been trying to keep all three occupied and busy to reduce the level of fighting, time- outs and a frustrated mom.

Yesterday went relatively smooth with about half of the normal glitches along the way. We thought we would kick off the break with a special family breakfast at Humpty's. Oh boy, this was going to be great I was so looking forward to my grease and sodium fix along with that diner-type coffee!

Change of plans...for me anyway.

Julia refused to go! She wanted Cream of Wheat. After 45mins. of fighting, encouraging, bribing.... her and I stayed home and had...you guessed it, C.o.W. (more on that later. Suffice it to say when you have a commbination of a) female, b) red-head and c) three-year-old you RARELY win the battle!

The boys came home excited telling me about their deelish breakfast. It was a great 5 minutes before the fighting started. Throwing my arms up, "that's it, everyone in the car we're going out!"

boys: "Where are we going?"
me: "We are going to drive until we reach those mountains we keep seeing."

We did! it was a good morning. A fun and slippery hike, lots to look at and no fighting!

We came home just in time for lunch and then had to head out to the Health Centre to update Joel on his immunizations (now that's a way to spend a day off). That is not the two hours I want to remember. He was so upset, he cried and fought it and wiggled and gave the nurse and I a hard time and even refused her stickers. He just made a mad dash for the door...without me.

Headed to Blockbuster to rent some 'down time' before supper.

That was the first day.

Today was pretty smooth too. I took the kids to the field behind our house and we went sledding! It was so fun. I thought Julia would be too timid but eventually she needed more of a thrill and started jumping on the sled on her belly, soaring down the hill into the bushes, laughing the whole time. It was good for me too, I experienced that straight from the gut laughter all the way down. Again, no fighting.

We came in and had some Hot Chocolate and lasted a few moments before the next fight broke out. This time-out lasted longer then normal and it was good for me.

Off we headed then to Wal-Mart (I love Wal Mart) to purchase a craft project to do together. I thought I would inspire the artist in all of them and buy some paint by numbers. Joel finished his in 30 mins and by the end of it he was completely covered in paint along with the proudest grin I ever saw. Jacob, on the other hand, didn't have a speck of paint anywhere and had two leaves done...to perfection!

Now they are in bed, fast asleep after an hour and a half of coaxing and nagging and yes, even a raised voice. It's late and there is still so much to do. I unpacked another box and came across Jacob's baby book. Of course I had to look through it but it left me feeling guilty for all the times I have been impatient and intolerant and sometimes, down-right vicious! Raising kids has got to be the toughest job in the entire universe.


On another note...
Matt and Lauren are on the last leg of their journey here. I wonder how they are surviving the bus ride from Toronto.

I wonder what tomorrow will be like.

3 comments:

Lori said...

Youe make me laugh! What adventures you have, thankfully you are creative, or you would go bonkers. I mean even more bonkers. I loved your idea of taking them to Wal-Mart, that place is a dream! Why do the boys have so much school off? They seem to be out more than in.

Reverend Joyleaf said...

Soooo...to echo Lori, why did the boys have so much school off? Monday was a holiday, Sat and Sun are regular days off so that makes 3 days. Why were they off on Thurs and Fri? Hope you are well.

Leslie said...

Sorry. I haven't been on the computer in a while...Thurs. and Fri. were teacher convention days!