First thing first, I need to give you some context here which will explain my title and lack of posting lately.
A couple of weeks ago, my friend Lori came up with a brilliant idea. Our community centre is hosting a craft & bake sale and she suggested we go splits on a table and sell some stuff. Without hesitation, I thought 'why the heck not, I can make crafts and I could use some cash.' I agreed.
However, what you may or may not know is Lori is a natural at 'whipping' things up plus she has an unlimited supply of craft stuff. Leslie is not so good at 'whipping' things up. Leslie has no supplies. Leslie doesn't make fudge. And Leslie is short on time.
Nonetheless I press on. I have had to aquire my goods (shh don't tell Steve $$$) and have attempted to create some things worthy to sell. Now I need to make back the money I spent and then some. So, I have been up into the wee hours of the night after work is done, homework, reading, settling kids, making lunches, doing laundry etc etc. to create some fancy treats. I have a couple of novel cookbooks and it seems that everything I go to make I am short at least one ingredient...argh!!!
I did find an 'easy' microwave peanut brittle recipe. I tried it...twice. The first batch was smoking in the mic and became peanut 'burnt'le. Before throwing it out (I didn't buy many peanuts) I let Steve and Lori taste it. They suggested I sell it anyway and call it 'roasted' or 'toasted'. I obliged, feeling sorry for the poor chap who buys it. On my way back to my car, I happen to drop the brittle (which was very brittle) and it smashed and became definitely un-sell-able!
Later that night I decided to try my hand at fudge....oh boy! In case you didn't know it, fudge is extremely tricky! My book said the secret to good fudge is a candy thermometer. So, what do I do? Das right....got myself a candy thermometer! And let it be known, my book lied! My fudge became crumbs. Dry crumbs!
Becoming weary and discouraged (sort of, not really) I thought I would end up with nothing to bring. I didn't give up though and I managed to pulled off a few successful items. Almond bark is extremely easy.
After looking through my book again, I thought the safest thing for Leslie to create would be layered dry mixes in fancy jars, fun stuff. Again, did not have all the ingredients. One of the dry mixes I am attempting to make is a fancy coffee drink. This required instant coffee granulars that I don't have...(eww instant coffee).
Today after picking the kids up from school, we went to good 'ol Wal-Mart. They received some birthday money in the mail and wanted to spend it. While there I thought, 'hmmm...I will grab a jar of instant coffee and can make my 'craft' when the kids go to bed'. If you have ever shopped with three kids, you know that you grab what you need as fast as possible and get the hee-loi outta there!
I found the coffee aisle scanned the jars and grabbed the unknown brand because it was 50c cheaper. Got home and again, after homework and reading and cleaning up, I gathered my things to make this mix. I had barely enough cocoa powder. I layered everything nicely and was quite proud. The last layer was instant coffee. Pleased as punch that I now had all necessary ingredients, I went to the pantry and got my new jar of coffee. Opened it up, poured it in and admired the finish product.
When putting the lid back on, I took a closer look at the 'coffee'. It didn't look right, or smell right. What the heck?
I looked at the ingredients and noticed it contained roasted barley, rye, chicory and beet root. "That is so weird", I thought. "why would they put those things in coffee?" Finally I realized that there was no coffee in the coffee! Beautiful, just beautiful!
I turned the jar around and read, "Caf-Lib", "the UnCoffee" grain beverage.
And to this I ask, "who knew?" Who would even know such a thing exsisted?
There goes that idea, I am out of cocoa and coffee and NOT going back to the store!
Tired and frustrated, I am going to bed!
Lori, you know I love you but I just don't measure up. Next year I will cheer you on.
Thursday, November 17, 2005
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
19 comments:
Awww.... Poor Leslie! I can totally relate... I know exactly how talented that Lori girl is!! I am her sister-in-law.... I even know where she gets all that talent from! I totally related to every experience you had in this post... it is similar to pretty much every time I attempt at being crafty too! (I stick to painting picture frames and making necklaces now) I'm sure you will do just fine!
Are you writing about me? I can identify with this post 100%.
So sorry for all the frustration.
You do know baking doesn't determine your worth as the amazing, incredible woman you are, right?
All is not lost! You still have today right?
Leslie, I did not drag you in kicking and screaming. If I recall correctly you were quite excited about the prospect of the sale when I told you about it. In fact..I remember being doubtful myself and you cheering us both on. Sure you have had some mishaps, but so have I.
I burned gingerbread and dog biscuits and one batch of fudge did not set.
We shop differently, I am a baker through and through so I make sure I always have ingredients on hand year round. Plus, I am terrified of running out so I buy extra. That is key.
I also have a house to run and unpack and kids to tend to etc. My meals still get on the table these days even though they may be crappy and quick.
Please do not feel forced. That was never my intention. I had hoped we could chum out the day together, but don't fret about it. You have lots on your plate, I do know that.
There are still lots of things I can't do, I just concentrate on the things that come easily to me.
Ha Ha Lori, I am just laughing at myself and all my mishaps! Of course I am excited! And, I did get some good stuff too!
I don't feel forced...it will be fun.
Oh, and I am trying more fudge today, cross your fingers.
Good luck Leslie!! If I were feeling well I would come over to help you....well, if I were feeling well I would probably be at work!! But making fudge sure sounds a heck of a lot better!!
Thank you for my chuckle of the day - Rosalind and I both give you A for effort - we would have given up a long time before you did!!
Heather
I heard of an easy fudge recipe where you just mix up icing and melting chocolate (or whatever other type you want to try) chips. As the melted chocolate hardens, the fudge will set up. If not, you have yourself some yummy ice cream topping!
awwww, you poor thing. i'm also going to try and make some fudge this christmas, i've done it in the past, but had issues with it, but i'm going to try again. hope your sale goes well!
Leslie,
I remember making fudge in Jr High WITHOUT a candy thermometer. I remember it being really good and quite easy. I think it involved marshmallows, condensed milk, chocolate...And it was delicious and creamy.
I think it may have come from a Best of Bridge cookbook. You could always try to find that one if this next attempt doesn't work
I forgot to mention another mishap...I bought white chocolate chunks to make almond bark. I stored it in the pantry in a bucket on the floor. While having my morning shower, the dog found his way into the pantry, grabbed the bag and ate the entire contents!!!
Readers of this blog, I was at Leslie's house today and was witness to the fact that she has an entire cooler full of goodies that she has made. She also has items in her pantry as well as her fridge. She has made many items that are wonderful but for some reason she is focusing on some of the failed attempts.
Leslie, you're doing great.
ha ha
so you're focusing on your failures huh, are you planning on keeping all those goodies for yourself!!!
hope you're planning on taking some pics at the sale.
oh yes, we will take pictures 4 sure!
Thanks PM. It was actually PB fudge that I made. I cheated and squeezed all those crumbs together. I was going to have fudge no matte what it took. (hee hee)
yeah about that...sorry. It's been a loong time since I've been there and I've actually forgotten the names of a few places. But downtown does turn into a big party on the weekend nights.
Glad you had fun!
That Lori girl is crazy good with all that craft and baking stuff. Reading this made me think of myself. Whenever I seem to try and do stuff like that something ALWAYS goes wrong...so when is this craft/bake sake anyways? How did your second batch of fudge turn out?
Post a Comment