The power of the positive.
Julia has pretty much mastered the art of positive thinking.
The two of us were on our way home. I was carrying a small carton of chocolate milk that she didn't finish from her lunch. We got to the van, I buckled her in then got myself in the driver's seat. Because I wasn't able to help her, and because I didn't have a straw, I thought it best to put the milk in the cup holder and let her finish it when we got home (not far)!
She didn't go for it and I had a battle on my hands. I gave her every good reason to wait, knowing she would spill chocolate milk everywhere and I would have a mess on my hands that I would rather avoid. Sorry, I am like that, a mothering flaw I know.
Geez, she wouldn't relent, insisting she needed it and wouldn't spill it. I gave in (yes, another mothering flaw). I reasoned in my mind that I should give her a chance and deal with the mess when it happens.
Just before we pulled into the drive way Julia says,
"Mommy, I didn't spill any chocolate milk on my shoes, or my mittens. None on my hat or my hair. I didn't spill any on the seat or the floor...and none on my socks. I only spilled it all over my coat and pants!"
She couldn't see my face. I laughed silently and responded, "good job sweetie!"
Tuesday, January 31, 2006
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
5 comments:
Yes!! Love it! That story made my day! :)
Such a good girl! Heehee!
Oh gosh! I think her and Emma are cut from the same cloth.
FUNNY! Thanks for that.
Julia is the cutiest...it is quite easy to give into someone who is that cute!! I think I'll probably end up being just like you when I become a mom!
LOL. that is too funny! They are so clever arent they!?!
Post a Comment