Sunday, September 10, 2006

Clowning 101

I have taken on two new projects for this week. I am quite excited about them.

Julia and I were looking in the fabric dept for a simple halloween costume for me to sew her. I say simple because I don't really sew. I didn't find a costume, but while browsing the 'easy' patterns I came across a pyjama/nightgown pattern to make her. Ooh I am beside myself excited to sew something again (even though I suck), it has been a while. I hope it turns out the way I am anticipating...

My second project is going to be a lot harder, I think. I have six days to learn how to be a clown...put together some sort of clown act, maybe some tricks and definitely those balloon animal thingys.

Oh boy, maybe I bit off more than I can chew :0

Joel's birthday party is on Saturday. Because an outside venue is tres expensive and I am somewhat cheap, we are having it at home. He has invited quite the group of very 'active' boys and I need to fill time to keep all energy controlled and managable.

I happened to buy a kickin' clown costume from my neighbour at our yard sale a couple of weeks ago. It's awesome!! It came with the wig and hoop outfit and even the big shoes!! PLUS...I found a balloon making kit in my basement. I haven't spent anytime looking at it, just enough to know it shows you how to make different animals and such. Yeah, I better get on that.

I am hoping I can get the balloons down pat... I am hoping I can be disguised enough that even my kids don't know who I am... I am hoping I can be even a little bit funny (I'll find the whoopie cushion as back-up!)...and I am hoping I don't completely and utterly embarrass Joel!

Bring it on!!

4 comments:

Trinity13 said...

Making balloon animals is actually quite easy. Just follow the directions step by step and then modify them to your own style.

Anonymous said...

You are an awesome mom! Good luck with that - can't wait to hear how it turns out. Cathie K.

~Mel said...

Sounds like fun! Good luck!:)

Alison said...

Have fun with that!!!! And I agree with Andrea...farting is always funny!