Tuesday, September 26, 2006

Just a Thought

I have thought this before, but after all of our camping this past summer I'm really left wondering..."Who ever decided that outhouses (or single dwelling washrooms) should be gender specific?"

That just makes no sense to me at all. More than once on the campground there would be a line-up outside the women's outhouse (Okay more like outdoor washroom in some places) while the other one remained empty.

Isn't that silly? I think I somehow need to change that law/rule because as long as that skinny man's picture is on the door, I feel I can't go in there. There were however some ladies who didn't mind at all. Not me, I had it in my mind that the moment I ignored the sign, I would come out to a line-up of men waiting, scowling at me for being in their territory.

Instead, I waited, dancing on the spot until my designated area was vacant.

Darn signs!

3 comments:

Fred and Wendy said...

Wendy and I were in Banff Monday and a man walked out of the women's washroom (clearly marked) and it wasn't a one-seater! That's just creepy - but I agree with your premise.

Anonymous said...

When you gotta go, you gotta go! I have gone (on more than one occasion) into a Man's weashroom in a situation like yours, come out to find a man waiting and said those words (with a sheepish grin) to the gentleman waiting. I have never received a negative response. Just a grin and understanding nod!

Margie said...

I always go into single dwellimg washrooms... especially if the kids have to go:)

On more then one occassion I have started a trend and there was a sigh of relief from the line.. other women followed.

I figure, if I am wearing pants... maybe that is a picture of me;)