
Well looky here, I am just so excited about this new invention. Who ever created this is BRILLIANT and has made my life easier. This is the greatest invention since...uh...I don't know...the telephone?! Okay maybe I am stretching it a bit, but YAY!! anyway.
I may have mentioned before that in order to get a cart at the superstore for my mounds of groceries, you must first deposit a $1 coin. Normally this is no biggie, especially if you are married to Steve who happens to be very particular about always keeping that coin in the car no matter what. It is a must.
Unfortunately, being me, I don't always cooperate. You know what it's like, you're driving along and you have to pass Tim's just when you need a coffee and, behold, that dollar coin is there and comes in handy when you are searching for pennies under the floor mats. I have a habit of consistantly taking the coin and then Steve consistantly puts another one back.
Sometimes however, there isn't a coin put back in it's place after I have snatched it. Coincidently these are the days I end up at Superstore. Rats! No coin. So frustrating. Ugh!
The other day, while at the checkout I spotted these..."The Cart Coin!" For one dollar, you purchase this metal coin that fits into the cart with all proceeds going towards the children's charity. Am I behind the times? Are these old news? Either way I think it is fabulous. No more being stuck without a $1 coin and I can't spend it! Brilliant.
10 comments:
First, I *love* teh snapshot!
Second, never heard of paying for use of a cart...
Third, never heard of a cart coin!
;)
I have not seen coin carts in a while and I have certainly never seen the cart coin. It is a fabulous idea though.
Wow! What a great idea! The coin, I mean-not the carts. I've always thought that was a lame idea.
I go to a store where I need a quarter for a cart...so I would love to have a cart coin for this store!!!
Peter is the same way...we have to keep the coin in the car...good thing we go to Safeway where we only need a quarter...if it was a loonie I would definatly need the cart coin as well!! I love how you get so excited about the little things in life!
Isn't it the greatest thing since sliced bread? (ya, I so just dated myself) Anyways, I almost kissed the cashier when she asked me if I wanted to purchase one! There are days that I went to other grocery stores because I didn't have my looney :( I'm such a bum..haha. Cute picture.
Sarah
We use .25 to get our carts... wonder if they will come this way?
Is there a web site or address where I can write? Beg? Pleed? Insist?
My dad has a Safeway cart coin...they have been for sale at some point...
That is so cool. So do you insert that coin and leave the chain with it? What's the deal? What will they come up with next?!
Alas I am the stupid one. I saw the little basket at the checkout and wondered what the heck they were. Why would I buy money on a keychain? I already have a keychain. Duh!!!!!!! I should go back because we are always scrambling and the worst is when (like the other day) you have two kids along and no money for a cart and have to go into the store to make change. ARG!
Post a Comment