Sometimes I watch it.
I know it is probably meant to help parents by giving us strategies and tips and such.
It doesn't help.
Often I watch it and feel great about my situation.
Sometimes I don't.
I think it highlights negative parenting, making us all feel like crap in one way or another. Really, what mother feels she is doing a great job? Especially as more kids come on board and as they get older.
We all see people who appear to be super mom and great at what they do, but if you were to get beneath the surface level conversation you may be surprised to find that they don't see themselves in the same way.
I watch this show (as I am right now) and see it all as common sense stuff. Things like routine and approach and discipline are those things I call "head smarts." Add stress and busyness and demands and responsibilities into your life and soon those head smarts go out the window and you find yourself in survival mode doing the best you can, however flawed that may be.
The way I see it is this, we all have good days and bad days. We all get tired and cranky and stressed not to mention pms. ;)
They say it takes a village to raise a child. I believe it. On those bad days you need your village (ie. family) to intervene. When you don't have your village around the kids just have to deal with a less than perfect life with less than perfect parents.
Thanks anyway super nanny.
Friday, July 14, 2006
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
1 comment:
I don't think that SuperNanny is trying to make parents feel badly. I really think she is trying to help. I also think that busyness and stress can sometimes be excuses that parents use to excuse their mistakes. Of course no one is perfect and sometimes we make wrong decisions. And yes stress can affect our judgement once in a while. And parenting is definitely not easy. BUT too many parents these days just keep making excuses for their bad parenting and for their bad kids. Parents are the adults and they need to start acting like it and be responsible when it comes to raising their kids. And when we make a mistake...admit it, move on and try to do better next time. That's just my 2 cents.
Post a Comment